The Premier League

How many teams have won the Premier League?

The English Premier League

The Premier League is the highest division in the English football league structure. Twenty clubs compete for the title, using the promotion and relegation system for the last three teams.

Generally, a season lasts from August to May, during which each team plays 38 games, including home and away matches. Most of the games are played on weekends in the afternoons, with a few weeknight contests every once in a while.

Related: How much is Everton Football Club’s Net worth?

Premier League All Time Top Scores

Towards the end of every season, the Premier League Golden Boot is handed to the top scorer of the season. Alan Shearer, a former Blackburn Rovers and Newcastle United striker, holds the Premier League goal scoring record with 260.

Ryan Giggs, the former Manchester United player holds the record for scoring goals in back to back seasons, having scored in the first 21 seasons of the league. Below is the list of top 10 all time top scorers as of August 2022;

1.) Alan Shearer 260 goals
2.) Wayne Rooney – 208 goals
3.) Andy Cole 187 goals
4.) Sergio Aguero – 184 goals
5.) Harry Kane 183 goals
6.) Frank Lampard – 183 goals
7.) Thierry Henry – 175 goals
8.) Robbie Fowler – 163 goals
9.) Jermain Defoe – 162 goals
10.) Michael Owen – 150 goals

How many teams have won the Premier League?

Manchester United holds the record for most English Premier League titles, having won the league 20 times since 1889. The majority of these victories came after the Premier League was established at the start of the 1992/93 season under the management of Sir Alex Ferguson.

However, United’s most recent title came in the 2012-13 season, which was also Ferguson’s last season in charge before retiring as a manager. Manchester City have won the Premier League title four times since his departure.

The Premier League

Sir Alex Ferguson lifting the Premier League title

While Manchester United holds the most league titles, their long time rivals Liverpool FC and Manchester City hold the record for most Football League Cup trophies. The following is a list of every English club that has won the Premier League title.

Related: Which is the richest club in the world?

1.) Manchester United – 13 Titles
2.) Manchester City – 6 Titles
3.) Chelsea – 5 Titles
4.) Arsenal – 3 Titles
5.) Blackburn Rovers – 1 Title
6.) Leicester City – 1 Title
7.) Liverpool – 1 Title

Premier League as The Best League Worldwide and Other Records

The Premier League is by far the most followed and watched football league in the world, with 643 million homes and a potential TV viewership of 4.7 billion people watching it in 212 countries.

Arsène Wenger is the Premier League’s longest-serving manager, having led Arsenal from 1996 until his departure at the end of the 2017-18 season. Wenger also holds the record for most Premier League matches managed with 828, all with Arsenal.

The Premier League

Arsène Wenger Making a change in Arsenal Match

He broke Alex Ferguson’s record, which he held with Manchester United from the league’s inception until his departure at the end of the 2012-13 season.

Football stadiums in England have undergone steady upgrades in size and infrastructure since the inception of the Premier League, with some clubs expanding into new stadiums.

Related: Carlos Woods Football Coach, Age, Height, Lauren Lake, Son and Net Worth

Premier League Socials

Who has won the most Premier League titles in history?

Manchester United is the Team that has won the most premier league titles, a record 20 times since 1889.


Similar Posts